Driving an old clunker

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Just a girl and her car

That’s me, and my 97 Toyota Corolla, Clarence. This week’s post is going to be about my car. I figured that you could get to know me a little better this way (or I just wanted an excuse to take a picture of myself sitting on my car, in cool socks). Either way, what can I say. Ever since I bought this car, I have been generally a happier person. This car is my blissful means of transport to my job, church, and friends. First things first, I am terrible at anything car related. I recently had to get the battery replaced on this thing; it was a stressful experience. I was genuinely worried that it was the alternator or worse. I am so thankful it was not.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThere are some things that I find hilarious and annoying about owning an older car, so I listed a few for your enjoyment. Here are some of them:

  1. This car is a legit old clunker. It shakes and bounces when I am attempting to go at high speeds on the highway. I was pushing seventy on the turnpike the other day, and gosh was my car struggling.
  2. The speedometer is off about ten miles per hour. I look at it in a positive light. I think I am going super fast. Yet the reality is I am following the speed limit perfectly. I dread the day I get a newer upgrade with a perfect speedometer. I will probably get ten speeding tickets before I retrain my brain.
  3. It is loud  My car is not one of those smooth purring cars, that glides along the highway. If my little sister is in the back seat I normally have to shout to make myself heard above the noise.

The three points I listed are but small things compared to the joy of owning a car. I love it, every little tiny scratch, bump, and noise it makes. I think there is something special, perhaps magical about first cars.

What do you think? Do you own an older car? Can you relate? Tell me about it in the comments below. Thanks for reading my blog.

Liana

 

11 Replies to “Driving an old clunker”

  1. My previous car was a 93 Dodge Intrepid. Whenever I would start it there was a brief rattling noise coming from the glove compartment area. Every time. Then it would stop. If I turned on the heat there was a brief maple syrup smell. I don’t know what that was but my kids thought it was disgusting.
    These were it’s quirks but I lived with them. I really liked the car.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

