My top five go to healthy snacks plus recipe

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yep, we all know it, those three PM hunger pangs. It has been several hours since lunch, and our body  wants some fuel. I find it is easy to make the wrong choices snack wise, if I am not prepared. Yet eating a healthy snack can be easy and quick. Below I have listed five of my go-to-snacks/ post workout foods.

Almonds:  According to an article published by Authority Nutrition, they state that almonds are full of antioxidants and loaded with vitamins. Aside from this they have numerous health benefits including blood sugar regulating properties, and “reduces hunger, lowering your overall calorie intake.Leech Joe.” I love to eat my almonds raw, or roasted and salted. All I normally eat is  1/4 to 1/2 cup because they fill me up quickly. They are also a great post workout, because they are high in protein.

Fresh or frozen fruit: There is  nothing like fresh fruit for a sugary mid-afternoon energy booster. I love to snack on berries, apples, bananas, pears, etc..It depends on what fruit is in season. I like to keep it local. Frozen fruit is great too especially in the warm summer months. It is cooling, sweet, and refreshing.

Peanut butter with apples or bananas: This classic snack has been around since sliced bread..wait was peanut butter invented before sliced bread? Hmmm, not sure about that one. Anyway, I find the key to keeping this snack super healthy is making sure your peanut butter in 100% natural, not sugar added type of stuff. If you find that you need some sweetness, try adding some raw honey.

Raw Brownies. credit the coconut mama:   Okay, so these are literally the best, trust me on this one. I find that made correctly they are fabulous. I don’t add the collagen because I don’t have any in my pantry. They turn out great without it. I call them the raw brownie even though she named them Coconut Protein Bars.They are easy, sweet, and satisfying. Here is, the recipe and link to her blog. Check it out. 

Dark Chocolate:  Okay I know you’re thinking, wait do you just snack on chocolate all day?  Of course not. However, I do love chocolate.  especially if I am craving something sweet. I recently have been enjoying dark 70-80% chocolate bars. When they are this dark, I normally only need several squares to be satisfied. I even have been brave and bought some stevia sweetened chocolate (it was fabulous).

Hopefully this post gave you some ideas of what to munch on. I also enjoy various vegetables.However, who really wants to eat vegetables for a snack? Would you? Comment below on you favorite snack food. Let me know if there is anything I missed. Thanks for reading my blog.

xoxo

Liana

 

 

5 Replies to “My top five go to healthy snacks plus recipe”

Leave a Reply

