Finding Balance

sl4boAjd.jpg

What is balance? I have always wondered what it really means to be a perfectly balanced person. I was walking the other day thinking about all the things I needed to do and accomplish in the next day and months. I was struggling with all the unfinished homework sitting on my desk at home. I felt like my emotional security was falling away…. was this college? Would I always feel so scattered? So overwhelmed?. Goodness, I thought, being an adult is harder than I ever imagined.

I have come to realize over the past couple of months that there is a fine line between doing too much, and not having enough to do. I have been taking twelve credits this semester and have been working as a Pilates instructor. My weekends amd busy and I have not had much time to rest or study the word of God. I have found myself craving His word. Longing for that sweet time with my God. I have striven for the world and I have failed to feel fulfilled. Perhaps my goals were wrong there past couple of weeks.  There is a song I love and the first verse goes like this…

“I need Thee every hour
Most gracious Lord,
No tender voice like Thine
Can peace afford.
I need Thee, oh I need Thee.
Every hour I need Thee.
Oh bless me now my Savior
I come to thee.”

Read more: Jamie Slocum – I Need Thee Every Hour Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Oh Lord how I need Thee every hour. What truth is in these words. I cling to them when the load grows heavy. In each, and every tough day, I can find rest in my Savior, and peace in His words.

If you are anything like me you are a go-getter. Always something to do, always running around on hyper-speed. I recently injured my foot, and could not perform my normal cardio workouts. Perhaps, it was Gods way of telling me to slow down. Perhaps, it was a way He was showing me how to find Him in the craziness.

Let me leave you, dear reader, with a question I have been struggling with over the past several months. Who do you turn to for balance? Who sustains you when life gets hard? Has God been telling you to slow down? Mathew 6:33 says “Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” Perhaps it is that simple to find God. I guess I must learn to seek him first and all the other things will fall in place.

 

 

3 Replies to “Finding Balance”

  1. Love, love, LOVE! This post!
    I am super busy as well, and it can get so overwhelming! I tried doing school on my own strength for the first three weeks, and was so stubborn I almost failed medical terminology before I finally realized my folly. Now I get up a half an hour before I need to study so I can read the Bible and pray, I found I absorb so much more information when I have my priority’s straight! I’m so glad you realized that too!
    ❤ you and your blog

    Lord I need you, oh I need you, every hour I need you . . . . <- me before every quiz/exam

    Like

Leave a Reply

