Learning to Love Low Impact Fitness (from a Pilates teacher)

Good afternoon my lovely readers.

Pilates 3.jpg

Today’s blog post is about learning love Yoga and Pilates (the powerful, yet low impact forms of exercise.) I was always the kind of girl who would mostly do HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) or kickboxing.Pretty much any form of exercise that included jumping I would be up for. I remember sitting down, and trying to do a thirty minute Yoga video several years ago. I wanted to like it, but I just got bored.There are four words that I am going to talk about today: balance, listen, patience, and focus. I am going to share how I applied these words to my yoga/pilates routine, and how those four words changed the way I view low impact fitness forever.

  • Balance: In my last blog post finding balance, I talked about slowing down, learning to trust God, and dealing with being scattered. I think that being willing to find calm, and take the time to relax your body is worth it for your mental health, and well being. It is important to take time to stretch, pray, and meditate on God’s Word. I have found that now I not only look forward to my Yoga and Pilates practice, but I enjoy doing it. It is all in the mindset, folks, all in the mindset.
  • Listen: Trust your instructor. When they tell you to exhale, do it. Spend your time listening, instead of being bored. Focus your mind on doing exactly what they tell you. I personally struggle with this aspect, especially when I think that I have mastered a move. My natural reaction is to ignore the instructor, and do it my way. You can apply these concepts to a DVD at home, or a local fitness class.
  • Patience: As Joseph Pilates said “Patience and persistence are vital qualities in the ultimate successful accomplishment of any worthwhile endeavor.” Pilates is like that because it takes time. You cannot come to class expecting to see results overnight or master the moves right a way: you have to work for it.
  • Focus:  Some people come to me, and say, “I have never done Pilates before. I love high intensity workouts and cardio.” To them I will respond, “Well, Pilates is not high impact. In fact, the whole focus of Pilates is to strengthen and lengthen the body gently: there is no jumping involved.” Sometimes they will shrug, try it anyway, and not come back. Sometimes they will love it, and become a faithful class attendee. There is no way for me to make them love this form of exercise. However, I can not stress enough (as a recent cardio addict), YOU MUST FOCUS. When you do roll up, slow down, think about how the moves engage your muscles, and breathe. All of a sudden, it will get harder, and your body will be in full work mode.

So the next time you have the opportunity to check out a Yoga, or Pilates class, do it. Think about the four words I stated: balance, listen, patience, and focus. To love low impact fitness, one must change their mindset.  Believe me, I have been there. Thanks for reading my blog. If you have something that helped you learn to love Yoga or Pilates leave it in the comments below. I love to hear from  you.

 

 

 

 

 

3 Replies to “Learning to Love Low Impact Fitness (from a Pilates teacher)”

  1. Pilates is the best! I ❤ the amount of focus it takes to master a move, and the amount of flexibility you achieve! The only thing I don't like is the time it takes to thoroughly stretch and warm up. Unfortunately I'm one of those people that can't really jump into a workout without a good warm- up. Not that I don't enjoy stretching, I love it! It's just the time factor. 🙂
    ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I am almost fully recovered from this past weekend. I have started to get back into the swing of life, and school. So, overall things are going really well. I have not had any time to sit down and check out your blog yet, but I am really looking forward to it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

