My top favorite cold remedies+recipe

woman-698946_1920The weather is getting crisp, and the leaves are beginning to change. There is nothing I love more then a long walk in the autumn sunshine. However, with the weather changes, people start to get sick. I know in my college, people are coughing and blowing their noses everywhere. So, sooner or later I am bound to get sick too.

Below I have listed some of the things I do to speed up the healing process, or prevent getting a cold, or virus.

  1. Vitamin C~According to Organic Health, some of vitamins Cs benefits include healing the common cold, and boosting the immune system. I like to take vitamin C the minute I start to feel sick, thus giving my immune system time to reboot.   (source)
  2. Lemon Ginger Honey  Tea~ Lemon Ginger Honey Tea goes back really far for me. I remember when I was a little girl my mom would make a big thermos of fresh tea with real ginger in it to sooth my sore throat.
  3. Ginger is a wonderful antibacterial, and comes in handy when fighting a stomach ache as well.
  4. Lemons are very high in vitamin C. According to Dr. Mercola, 187% of the daily value, so if you are fighting a cold eat some lemons! or make some sweet ginger tea.
  5. The last ingredient is honey. I like to use raw honey, because of its boosted health benefits, and because it is in its purest form. Raw honey is antibacterial and is loaded with antioxidants, thus resulting in a powerful immune building tonic.

So, now blend all these amazing, cold killing foods together, and you get a delicious tea. I love this recipe from cookthestory.com.

Ginger Lemon Honey Tea (in a thermos)

  • 1-2 inch piece of ginger, peeled and cut into 6-7 pieces
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp honey (more if you decide to make it sweeter)

Boil your hot water on the stove, while you chop up your ginger. When you have your ginger all chopped up, place it in the bottom of your thermos, and add the lemon and honey. Lastly, pour three cups of hot water over the ingredients and let steep for about 15-20 minutes.

6. Elderberry tincture~ Elderberry is known as one of the most antiviral herbs. It dates back to ancient Egypt. Health benefits include boosting the immune system, and improving sinuses.  I have grown up with elderberry tincture, and the recipe below is from my mom’s blog. It is the one she has made for us, and forces down our throats every time we get sick. But that is what good mothers do…

Elderberry tincture (from visionherbs.tumblr.com)

1 cup elderberries, fresh (You may also used dried but I did not this time)

3 cups water

2 Tbsp sliced fresh ginger

2 cinnamon sticks

Combine these ingredients and bring to a boil.  Simmer until liquid is cut in half.  Cool. Then add 1 cup raw honey and mix well.  Keep in a jar in the refrigerator and give 1 tbsp daily through the flu and cold season. If someone gets sick I often give them elderberry syrup 2 or 3 times/day until well. I did see that Wellness Mom recommends that if you are giving the syrup daily for prevention it can be helpful to take the weekends off so as not to build up immunity to the syrup.

That’s it, folks, I hope you enjoyed today’s post, and I hope you will give some of these recipes a go, and check out the lovely bloggers that created them!

Thanks for reading!!

Liana 

 

 

4 Replies to “My top favorite cold remedies+recipe”

  1. Fantastiske bilder og fortelling om dyrene dine..Det nederste bildet er ubg.elalie.tSkikkelig vakker og herlig gjeng med firbente du har:-)Deilig dag & stooor klem fra Randi

    Like

Leave a Reply

