Thanksgiving Pecan Pie GF,DF,Paleo

Yum, yum…the time has come for Thanksgiving, and all the glorious festivities to follow. In honor of this special day, I decided to make a pecan pie. I love pecan pie but I have not been able to eat it for years, because of all my food sensitivities. So, folks here it is a sweet paleo pie, with a light fluffy paleo crust..enjoy! I gathered the recipe from Dr Axe, but added some modifications, and twists of my own.

pie4.jpg

Above is the crust  and all the ingredients I used:eggs, sugar, coconut oil (instead of butter), and some salt. I also used cassava flour, but did not display it in the photo. The coconut oil worked well as a butter substitute, and I managed to still keep the light consistency of the crust. I did end up having to add some water to the crust because it was way too dry. I then popped it into the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes as prescribed.

blog 3.jpg

The next step was to create the filling.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

I mixed the pecans, coconut oil, eggs, maple syrup, and cinnamon in the food processor, blending until smooth.

PC100421.JPG

PC100430.JPG

I poured the batter into the crust and added my pecans. I then placed it back into the oven at 350 degrees for 50 minutes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Baked, and ready to be garnished.

choclate-1

I used some organic dark chocolate and melted it over a double boiler. Then I drizzled it over my pie….I went a little crazy at this part because, why not?

blog1.jpg

and finished…

Hope you liked it. Consider this an experiment with some food photography. I “tried to be artsy” for you guys! Anyway here is the link to the recipe…

Let me know what you think!

Happy Thanksgiving

Liana 

6 Replies to “Thanksgiving Pecan Pie GF,DF,Paleo”

Leave a Reply

