You are what you eat (three wonderful superfoods)

Food can be our greatest ally or our venomous foe, *dramatic pause*. I am standing in my kitchen drinking a glass of ginger water. cooking Plantain flat bread. I have flour on my jeans, and my hair is rather crazy. I think about a lot of different things when I cook, and today I was thinking about food…(I’m a food nerd, I know!)

I was thinking about how food makes us who we are. If we eat clean, pure, whole foods, our bodies will thank us, by removing excess fat, and nourishing our hair and skin. If we eat unhealthy, processed food, our bodies will become sick and tired. We will deteriorate faster, and develop disease of the mind and body. I wanted to share with my readers some of the things that I do on a daily basis, because, people. we are what we eat.

IMG_4113.JPG

Blueberry juice~ I recently was reading about blueberry juice and how it can be used to treat elderly people who are developing Alzheimer’s disease. Not only that but blueberry juice can boost the average person’s memory by 20% if taken faithfully over a period of time. I have been taking 2 shots of pure blueberry juice every day for the past couple of weeks, and am hoping that it will help me in my studies!!

FullSizeRender (3).jpg

Ginger- this one is wonderful for the cycling woman who is suffering from irregular periods and painful cramps. This last month I was suffering pain, cramps, and heavy bleeding. To help with the cramping I took fresh ginger and grated it up to make a warm ginger tea.

You will need..

  • 3 tbsps fresh ginger (depending on how strong you want it)
  • 1 mug full of boiling water

You can also add some raw honey for sweetness. However, I love the strong taste of ginger. It really did ease the pain for me, and soothed my achy body. I would give it a try, although ginger is a natural remedy and not a magic one.

Apple cider vinegar is great for detoxifying the liver, and kidneys. It is a wonderful for promoting clear, healthy skin. I love to add a couple of splashes to my water in the mornings. It is wonderful, combined with some fresh lemon juice and a few drops of liquid stevia.

Blueberries, ginger, and apple cider vinegar are three of my current favorites. Most likely you have these powerful tonics in your kitchen. I have been able to find fun ways to incorporate them into my daily diet.

“Tell me what you eat and I will tell you what you are.”- Jean Anthelme Brillat-Savarin

Love

Liana

Leave a Reply

