What I eat to stay lean and healthy

It’s summer and everyone is thinking about wearing shorts and tank tops, spending time with family and friends, and enjoying time outside in the sunshine.19105648_1888501741412523_4087296073362343718_n

However many people become concerned about their bodies and the few extra pounds they are carrying this time of year. It can become a stressful time filled with unsuccessful dieting and unproductive gym memberships.

In this post, I wanted to share some of the ways I maintain a lean body year round. Let it be said that everyone’s body is different and there is not a one size fits all when it comes to getting healthy and trim. However, there are some basic guidelines that can be applied to send you well on your way to health and well being.

Tip #1   Get enough sleep.

Statistics show that individuals who get less than 5 hours of sleep a night are more likely to gain weight. Lack of sleep also boosts your need for energy so you will spend time supplementing sleep for extra food.

Tip #2   Eat your vegetables.

I eat so many fresh vegetables and fruits daily.  My family tries to eat seasonally and support our local growers.  Since we live in Pennsylvania this doesn’t work too well in the winter, but the rest of the year it is great.  Seasonal food tastes better and often costs less.

I will often replace bread with some sauteed zucchini in the mornings. Since I am a mindless eater, I try to always have baby carrots or peppers in the fridge to snack on throughout the day when I just want to munch.

Tip #3   Eat Whole Foods

Heres what a typical day looks like for me:

Breakfast 5:30 am

Two eggs

2 bacon

zucchini

Mid morning snack 9:00 am

bulletproof coffee

Lunch 11:30 am

1/2 cup canned salmon

2 Tbsp sunflower seeds

1 Tbsp mayo

1 piece homemade gluten free sourdough bread

Snack 3:30 pm

Lara bar

Dinner  5:30 pm

stuffed sweet potato  with (coconut oil, venison meat, vegetables)

large side salad

I make sure that my foods are whole, unprocessed, and contain minimal ingredients.

Tip #4 Eat fat

I don’t eatprocessed fat but the good fats such as  coconut oil, raw butter, ghee, and nut butter. Fat helps you stay full throughout the day and stabilizes your hunger.

Read more on why we need fat.

Read more on cravings.

Tip #5  Drink lots of water

This is often a struggle for me. I can tell I am not getting enough water if I feel thirsty and when my skin gets dry.  I try and drink enough that I don’t feel thirst.

 

I am planning on doing another post in the near future that focuses on my exercise routine. I hope you got some helpful info out of the post and succeed in your health journey.

Keep eating your veggies,

Love

Liana

 

Leave a Reply

